Another story

Sometimes commercials surprise or make an impression. Sometimes they make a impression that will last for a while. This one is a Dutch commercial by a rapper called Sticks, and this he is the way he looks at how and what an insurance company should be..


Als je het mij vraagt verwacht ik van een verzekeringsmaatschappij
If you ask me
I expect from an insurance company
Integriteit
Integrity
Altijd
Always
En een duurzaam en humaan beleid
And a sustainable and humane policy
Geef me één goede adviseur die mij wegwijs maakt
Give me one good adviser who will guide me
Omdat ik in die wirwar van polissen de weg kwijt raak
Because I’m lost in the maze of policies
Ik verwacht het persoonlijk contact
I expect the personal touch
En het grootste gemak
And the greatest of ease
Het is toch zo gek nog niet
Surely it’s understandable
Als ik bijvoorbeeld wil weten of mijn polis ook dekking biedt
For example, if I want to know if my policy provides coverage
Wanneer ik mijn woning aanbied
When I offer my house
Bij RB&B wat zijn mijn mogelijkheden
At B & B, what are my options
Zie ik ze niet
And if I don’t see them
Geef me dan op maat advies
Give me tailored advice
Graag op maat – alles aanbieden kan iedereen.
Customized – everyone can offer all
Ik wil niet driedubbel verzekerd zijn
I will not be triple insured
Dus ik vind dat een verzekeringsmaatschappij
So I think an insurance company
Mensen in dienst moet hebben die weten waar ze mee bezig zijn
Should employ people
who know what they are doing
En liefst ook maatschappelijk betrokken
And preferably also socially involved
Ze mogen laten zien dat ze hart voor ons land hebben
They should show they have heart for our country
Meedenken en er voor knokken
Thinking wit hit,
fighting for it
Als je het mij vraagt geef ik de voorkeur
If you ask me I prefer
Aan een maatschappij met verstand
A sensible company
En altijd genoeg geld in kas
And always enough cash in hand
Zodat als er iets gebeurt
So if something happens
Ik niet hoef te horen dat alles verdampt is op de beurs
I do not need to hear that all has evaporated on the stock market
Ik voel nog genoeg woede over de onnoemelijk hoge bonussen
I still feel enough anger about the horrible high bonuses
Laat ze dat geld besparen of gebruiken daar waar het echt nodig is.
Let them save that money or
use it where it is really needed.
Een verzekeringsmaatschappij mag niets te maken hebben
An insurance company should not be in any way involved
Met mijn geld beleggen
To invest my money
In de wapenhandel
In the arms industry
Ik zeg je
I’m  telling you
Ik zoek dekking!
I’m taking cover!
Wie maakt het verschil voor mijn onderneming vandaag
Who makes the difference for my company today
En morgen als ik er wederom moet staan
And tomorrow when I have to be there again
Maar ook wanneer onverhoopt het noodlot toeslaat
But when disaster strikes unexpectedly
Klop het af, maar als ik arbeidsongeschikt raak
Knock on wood, but if I get incapacitated to work
Zoek ik hart voor mijn zaak
I’m looking for someone who will  take my case to heart
Ik wil in beeld blijven
I want to stay in the picture
Nadat ik stop met werken en van mijn pensioen geniet
After I stop working and enjoy my retirement
Zien ze me dan nog zitten
Will they see me than?
Of word ik weggezet als een klein kind
Or will I be dismissed as a small child
Onbelangrijk en boei ik niet.
Unimportant and Uninteresting.
Ik heb weinig vertrouwen in al die mooie praatjes
I have little faith in all that sweet talk
En tv-reclames die polissen die proberen te pushen alsof het gratis is
of TV commercials that try to push their policies as if it’s free
En allemaal even betrouwbaar…
And all equally reliable …
Ja, ja, ik ben kierewiet
Sure, I’m gaga
mmm. de meesten overleven de eerste de beste crisis niet.
mmm. Most survive won’t survive the very first crisis.
Ik vind dat ze niet van gisteren moeten zijn
I think they should not be from yesterday
Maar vandaag, morgen en een deel van mijn history moeten zijn
But from today, tomorrow and be a part of my history
Dat vind ik.
That’s what I think.

4 thoughts on “Another story

  1. I have a more than healty distrust as well Appy, but it is encouraging that one company finally understand what is really important, and that explains it's moral values. So I welcome this change, even if it's a commercial it is the first real change since years.
    I think it's an impressive commercial..

    Thank you for your views, Appy,

    Han

    Like

  2. No, it is not too long. They started with the two minute commercial and now play only parts of it. Anyway, I get hope from these commercials. It gives me hope that some companies do understand how we look at insurance companies.
    And if they don't do what they say?
    Well, we still have this tape stored…

    Thank you Mona Lisa,
    Han

    Like

  3. Smile.
    I like it.
    But it is toooooooo long..
    But I like i
    Again a nice and different post Han.
    You have surprised us.
    Again.

    Mona Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

