Hallelujah (Praetorius)

Remember Hallelujah from Georg Friedrich Händel? Or Hallelujah from Leonard Cohen? Here is another by Praetorius.

Michael Praetorius (actually Michael Schultheiss or Schulze) (Creuzburg, near Eisenach, Germany, February 15, 1571 – Wolfenbüttel, February 15, 1621) was a German composer from the early days of the baroque music. Praetorius uses multiple voices in the Italian style and applies it to the German music. He is well known for his church music, and he was also music theorist. His three-part treatise Syntagma Musicum (1615-1620) is considered to be an encyclopedia of music theory and practice of that time. The first part deals with the church music and contains a wealth 
of  quotations from earlier sources; The second part gives an overview of 
the all instruments at the time.
I am so curious who of you listens to the final Hallelujah. I love this music. I can listen to it all day. When I listen to it at work my colleagues react the way I react to rap-music. LOL. The same irritation, the same feeling: I don’t want to hear this. I DON’T WANT TO HEAR IT. And so we find some middle ground where we listen to music none of us likes.

The song  is about Christ’ resurrection. The text is:

Original Text English Translation
Hallelujah,
Christ ist erstanden,
von der Marter alle,
des sollen wir alle froh sein,
Christ will unser Trost sein.
Kyrioleis.

Hallelujah,
Wär er nicht erstanden,
so wär die Welt vergangen
seit daß er erstanden ist,
so loben wir den Herren Jesum Christ.
Kyrioleis.

Hallelujah,
Des sollen wir alle froh sein,
Christ will unser Trost sein.
Kyrioleis.
Hallelujah.

Hallelujah,
Christ is arisen
from all of the torment,
we should all rejoice.
Christ will be our comfort.
Kyrioleis.

Hallelujah
Had he not arisen,
the world would have ended,
and since he is arisen,
we praise the Lord Jesus Christ.
Kyrioleis.

Hallelujah
we should all rejoice.
Christ will be our comfort.
Kyrioleis.
Hallelujah.

Did you listen to the end of the music clip?

https://www.google.com/reviews/polls/display/4883096724115270078/blogger_template/run_app?txtclr=%23ffeedd&lnkclr=%23ffcc77&chrtclr=%23ffcc77&font=normal+normal+14px+Arial,+Tahoma,+Helvetica,+FreeSans,+sans-serif&hideq=true&purl=http://hanvanmeegeren.blogspot.nl/

4 thoughts on “Hallelujah (Praetorius)

  1. I never heard it before.
    But yet, I knew this music.
    It must be a same historisk Roots to gean music.
    Thank you, Han.
    I lived it.
    Halleluja!!!

    Mona Lisa

    Like

  2. I like Cohen's Hallelujah as well, Cat. I have like books a broad taste in music. But this kind of music, I can listen to day and night without being bored…

    Like

  3. I listened to the entire piece and it was okay but not really the kind of music I prefer…was better than bad rap. 😉 I must say that Cohen's Hallelujah is one of my favorites.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

