First Christmas Day

Icelanders have a beautiful tradition of giving books to each other on Christmas Eve and then spending the night reading. This custom is so deeply ingrained in the culture that it is the reason for the Jolabokaflod, or “Christmas Book Flood,” when the majority of books in Iceland are sold between September and December in preparation for Christmas giving.

I love to read Christmas stories. I have a small collection of them.
My Mother in Law comes to visit us today. My daughter is working tonight and after she is finished we will have a nice dinner. I have bought a book for Wanita and my daughter this year. I hope I get one as well.

Dear Mama by Esther Verhoef for Wanita
Happiness for my daughter
10 thoughts on “First Christmas Day

  1. Very nice presents, Han. Wanita and your daughter are very lucky to have you as their husband and dad.
    Happy Christmas to all of you.

    appy

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing a lovely custom, Han. Never heard of it before but I always try to get my children and now my grands at least one book for Christmas. Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

  3. That sounds like a wonderful custom. I always buy books for the grands, and other small ones too. Get them interested in reading early on and they'll be readers for life –

    Happy, Happy

    Like

  4. What a wonderful custom…had never heard of it. Part of my Christmas gift to the grands every year is always a new book….Have a wonderful evening and day tomorrow…
    hugs abby

    Like

Leave a Reply

