The mouse

We needed to replace after the second world war a lot of trains, so new trains were ordered, known as Mat’46, but better known as “mouse” because of the shape of the cabin. The first trains arrived in 1948. We bought 65 four carriage trains and 79 two carriage trains. The train doors could not be closed automatically, all doors had to be closed by the conductor of the train. When I was young I used to ride these trains, and I can tell you comfort is something relative and changes in time.

On this advertisement it says: “From North to South Connected Again”.

4 thoughts on “The mouse

  1. Did you travel in the mouse Appy? I did when I was very young. Even then I would go up to the cabin and wave to the driver.

    And then I knew: I want to be a train driver when I grow up.

    And I grew up,
    Han

    Like

Leave a Reply

